EMorganAwardLogo3.inddWe are very pleased to announce that Stewart Sanderson, one of our erstwhile contributors, has been shortlisted for the prestigious Edwin Morgan Award for Poetry. The award will be presented by Jackie Kay at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on Saturday 16th August 2014. Stewart is a PhD candidate at the University of Glasgow. His poems have appeared in various UK and Irish magazines, including Gutter, Magma, Poetry Wales, Irish Pages, Poetry Review and The Dark Horse. He is co-organiser of the Verse Hearse reading series. Three poems are included below.

The Edwin Morgan Award for poetry is awarded biennially. It replaces the Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition (2008–2012) which was generously sponsored by the University of Strathclyde. The new award is £20,000 and will be presented at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. In alternate years, the Edwin Morgan Trust, in association with the Scottish Poetry Library and the Edinburgh International Book Festival, will administer a variety of projects to support young writers in different parts of Scotland, as well as promoting Morgan’s work as one of Scotland’s most important translators.

For more information see

The other shortlisted poets are: 

claire askew

niall campbell

tom chivers

harry giles

molly vogel

Click on the arrow in upper right corner [‘Open in New Window’] to open and view the poems full-screen.