2013

DSC_0843 - Copy (2)


December 2013

CABINET OF CURIOSITIES: Daniel Canty’s Wigrum – by Calum Gardner. On a recently translated French novel from 2010, for fans of Perec, Calvino, and Nabokov.

November 2013

LOVERS AND DEMONS: Bethany Ruth Anderson’s Swings and Roundabouts – by Karyn Dougan.

MAPPING OUT FORGIVENESS: Linda Cracknell’s Call of the Undertow – by Emilie Andersen.

EDWARD PUGH: PLACE AND LANDSCAPE IN SIX VIEWS OF DENBIGHSHIRE, 1794 – by Ailsa Hutton. On John Barrell’s Edward Pugh of Ruthin, 1763-1813: ‘A Native Artist’.

October 2013

TURN, TURN, TURN AGAIN: SLOW PRINT BY ELIZABETH CAROLYN MILLER – by Owen Holland.

BURNING SAND, A NEW GLASGOW-BASED JOURNAL OF ART AND LITERATURE – by Caspar Wilson.

THE FIRST INDY-REF NOVEL? – by Karyn Dougan. On Craig Smith’s The Mile.

September 2013

TO TRUTHS TRANSLATED: ON SHAKESPEARE AND FLARF – by Calum Gardner. On The Sonnets: Translating and Rewriting Shakespeare, edited by Sharmilla Cohen and Paul Legault.

August 2013

ARIKA 2013: CONFRONTING US AS FLESH – by Tom Coles. On boychild’s performances at Arika’s Episode 5 – Hidden in Plain Sight.

EIBF 2013: MORE THAN AN APPENDIX – by Rebecca DeWald. Translation Duels in French and Spanish.

EIBF 2013: LOYAL TO THE SPIRIT OF TRANSGRESSION – by Rebecca DeWald. Patricio Pron and Eugen Ruge.

EIBF 2013: PERCEPTIONS, PREOCCUPATIONS, PREJUDICES – by Rebecca DeWaldJerry Brotton on Maps.

EIBF 2013: RACHEL KUSHNER – by Mark West.

EIBF 2013: NO UNDERTAKERS OF THE MULTIPLICITY OF LANGUAGE – by Rebecca DeWald. Pedro Lenz and Glaswegian translator Donal McLaughlin on Naw much of a talker.

EIBF 2013: MEG WOLITZER – by Mark West.

July 2013

FRÈROCITÉ – by Alexander Freer. On Jean-Bertrand Pontalis’ Brother of the Above.

BROODING, MULLING, REMEMBERING, LISTENING, OBSESSING – by Mark West. On Masha Tupitsyn’s Love Dog.

June 2013

TRANSLATING MULTIVOCALITY – by Anikó Szilágyi. On Writing Revolution: The Voices from Tunis to Damascus, edited by Layla Al-Zubaidi and Matthew Cassel.

PERCEPTION IS ALMOST AN END IN ITSELF – by Calum Gardner. On Lyn Hejinian’s The Book of a Thousand Eyes.

ARIKA 2013: HISTORY ROUND A TABLE – by Mark West. On Arika’s Episodes 4 & 5.

ARIKA 2013: A CHOREOGRAPHY OF AFFINITIES – by Amy Bromley. On Antonia Baehr’s My Dog Is My Piano at Arika Episode 5 – Hidden In Plain Sight.

May 2013

BIG AND SMALL – by Richie McCaffery. On Maggie Rabatski’s Holding and Alexander Hutchison’s Tardigrade.

POEMS OF THE INFRA-EXTRAORDINARY – by Calum Rodger. On Alec Finlay’s memoir Question your teaspoons.

ECHOES – by Rebecca DeWald. On Nihad Sirees’s novel The Silence and the Roar.

HEY – by Tom White. On Thomas Meyer’s translation of Beowulf.

April 2013

AFTER THE FALL – by Daniel O’Gorman. On Richard Gray’s After the Fall: American Literature Since 9/11.

WHEN THE MEASURING STICK IS RAVAGED – by Chris Law. On Mark Fisher and Justin Barton’s On Vanishing Land and Jessica Warboys’s Pageant Roll.

Advertisements